Blitzboks win Dubai Sevens | Free Email -

Welcome to Webmail!

We offer FREE email, cloud storage and more. Get your FREE account!

Blitzboks win Dubai Sevens

Blitzboks win Dubai Sevens

South Africa beat New Zealand in the final of the Dubai Sevens to start the World Rugby Sevens Series on a positive note on Saturday.

The reigning world series champions unleashed all their attacking firepower in what was a breathtaking display of sevens rugby across the two days. With his most experienced side ever, head coach Neil Powell notched up his fifth tournament win of 2017 and continued South Africa's dominance on the global stage.

First-half tries from Rosko Specman, former World Rugby Sevens Player of the Year Seabelo Senatla and HSBC Player of the Final Kwagga Smith put the Blitzboks 19-0 up against New Zealand, who were chasing their first tournament win since Vancouver in 2016. Scott Curry and Andrew Knewstubb got the All Blacks Sevens back into the match, but at 19-12 it was the powerful Tim Agaba who closed the game out at 24-12.

"It was a great performance from the guys," said Senatla, who scored seven tries in Dubai, "It's been a while since we all played together but it's so great to win again in Dubai."

England pipped Fiji 28-21 to win the Bronze final, while France beat Spain 21-12 to win the Challenge Trophy. The next round of the series takes place in Cape Town on 9-10 December, where England will be looking to retain their crown.

Day Two results

Challenge Trophy quarter-finals

Canada 10-5 USA

Wales 17-24 France

Argetnina 26-7 Uganda

Spain 31-0 Russia

Cup quarter-finals

South Africa 26-10 Samoa

Fiji 35-24 Scotland

New Zealand 14-12 Kenya

England 26-19 Australia

13th place semi-finals

USA 21-31 Wales

Uganda 17-12 Russia

Challenge Trophy semi-finals

Canada 21-28 France

Argentina 12-14 Spain

Fifth place semi-finals

Samoa 27-22 Scotland

Kenya 12-19 Australia

Cup semi-finals

South Africa 12-7 Fiji

New Zealand 14-5 England

13th place play-off

Wales 26-7 Uganda

Challenge Trophy final

France 21-12 Spain

Fifth place play-off

Samoa 17-22 Australia

Bronze final

Fiji 21-28 England

Cup final

South Africa 24-12 New Zealand

Back to Top