Sagna charged over Instagram post
Manchester City defender Bacary Sagna has landed a Football Association misconduct charge for questioning the integrity of a match official.
The France international took to Instagram after City's 2-1 win over Burnley on January 2, which saw Pep Guardiola's side come from behind and a man down to claim all three points.
Sagna's comment appeared to be aimed at referee Lee Mason, who showed Fernandinho a straight red card for his two-footed challenge on Johann Berg Gudmundsson in the 32nd minute.
The 33-year-old right-back wrote on the social media outlet: "10 against 12... but still fighting and winning as a team" which he later doctored to read: "still fighting and winning as a team."
Sagna has now been charged by the FA, who issued a statement which read: "It is alleged that a comment posted on social media by the Manchester City defender constituted improper conduct in that it questioned the integrity of the match official and/or alleged and/or implied bias on the part of the match official, and/or brought the game into disrepute.
"He has until 6pm on 13 January 2017 to respond to the charge."
- Schneiderlin completes Toffees switch
- Zlatan: I conquered EPL in three months
- Arsenal's French trio extend deals
- Bilic: Payet refusing to play for West Ham
- Report: Ronaldo convinced James to snub Chelsea
- Makelele to assist Clement at Swansea
- City in trouble over anti-doping rules
- Klopp hails Sturridge return
- Toffees agree Schneiderlin fee
- Blues fail with Terry appeal